Day 6 – A Sick Day

Today I was sick.  I started having a headache and feeling a little out of on Tuesday afternoon.  I slept well and was hopeful that I would feel normal again in the morning.  I showered and got dressed but while sitting at the breakfast table I realized how dazed I was and that it was not a day to try to work.

Novartis has been great about communicating that people should work if they can but that health, both physical and mental of self and family, comes first.  This was clearly a case where the best thing for my health was to take the day off.   I emailed people at work to say I wouldn’t be online (saying I was staying home was a little unnecessary) and then went back to bed.

I felt a little better by the afternoon, and by evening felt a lot better.  I never got a fever -Jeanne checked it once and it came back as 97.0°F (36.1°C for my European readers) which made her question the accuracy of the thermometer.  I had a headache and fatigue but no cough or anything else.  It seems both unlikely that it is/was Covid-19 because the symptoms don’t match but it also seems unlikely that I would have caught some unrelated bug.  We’ll see how I feel tomorrow, but hopefully it was 24 hours and then back to normal.  And hopefully everyone else in the family stays healthy.

The girls did great today, they spent a bunch of time outdoors, they played well together, and Hannah continues to be super helpful with Daisy.

Things that went well:

  • Caroline made chocolate chip cookies
  • Hannah started Khan Academy with a goal to complete the 7th grade math
  • Caroline connected with a friend for a Zoom-powered virtual playdate

Things that did not go well:

  • Me being sick and unhelpful today
  • Daisy pooping in the house twice
  • Jeanne having to go grocery shopping and getting anxious about being out in the contaminated world

 

Prediction of the day:

  • Jeanne predicts that the kids won’t be back in school until September

Cute puppy photo of the day:

img_2007
Daisy wanted to go out and play with the kids outside

Leave a comment